Since June 1999, NATO has led a peacekeeping mission in Kosovo in support of broader international efforts to establish peace and stability in the region.
The mission of the Kosovo Force (KFOR) is derived from UN Security Council Resolution (UNSCR) 1244 of 10 June 1999, as well as the Military-Technical Agreement between NATO and the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia and Serbia. KFOR is a peacekeeping organization that operates under Chapter VII of the UN Charter.

KFOR now has roughly 3,700 soldiers from 28 Allied and partner nations. It continues to contribute to the preservation of a safe and secure environment, as well as the freedom of movement for all people and communities in Kosovo, in accordance with its mission, which is to:

  • discourage Yugoslav and Serb troops from renewing hatred and threats against Kosovo;
  • provide a safe atmosphere and maintain public safety and order;
  • Kosovo Liberation Army should be demilitarized.
  • help the worldwide humanitarian effort
  • Coordination and assistance for the worldwide civil presence

In fact, Kosovo proclaimed independence from Serbia in 2008, nine years after Serb troops were driven out of the former province by a 78-day NATO air operation. Serbia, together with its main allies Russia and China, continues to refuse to recognize Kosovo’s independence and insists on preserving its ethnic Serb brethren, who make up around 5% of Kosovo’s 1.8 million population.

Fewer than half of Kosovo’s Serb population resides in four northern municipalities bordering Serbia, and many have been hesitant to accept the government in Pristina, Kosovo’s capital, preferring to live as if they were still part of Serbia.

After tensions between Serbia and Kosovo began to rise, NATO declared in a press release that its force on the ground was “ready to intervene if stability is jeopardized.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here